Delights in the Great Glasshouse

I can’t believe I’ve been at NBGW for three months now. It feels like last week I was driving over the Severn Bridge into Wales for the first time!

Inside the Great Glasshouse

IMG_9565

IMG_9562

IMG_9572

Spot the fish!

20141129_084056

On Monday me and the other horticultural student, Becky, swap places with the inside and outside teams. I have been working outdoors since September so for the next three months I will be inside, working in the nursery glasshouses and polytunnels and the Great Glasshouse of course. I’m really looking forward to changing teams and learning new skills, being inside for the winter months is an added bonus as well! ๐Ÿ˜‰

(Anigozanthos kalbarriensis) Kangeroo Paws

Anigozanthos flavidus

Lechenaultia bilobaย 

Lechenaultia biloba

Melaleuca fulgens (Scarlet Honeymyrtle)

Melaleuca fulgens

Protea cynaroides (Sugarbush)

Protea cynaroides

At NBGW we all have to take turns working weekends, I am on the rota for this weekend and the following one. It’s quite nice being at work with only one other person around to help with the watering, it feels like I have the garden to myself!

Callistemon citrinus ‘Splendens’ (Bottlebrush)

Callistemon citrinus 'Splendens'

Proteaย (Sugarbush)

Protea 'Pink Ice'

Templetonia retusa (Cockies Tongue)

Templetonia retusa

Echium candicans (Pride of Madeira)

Echium candicans

Calothamnus quadrifidus (One-sided Bottlebrush)

Calothamnus quadrifidus

I was in the Great Glasshouse this morning and noticed so manyย delightfulย plants in flower. I had to stop and take quick shots of them all, how could I not share them?! I love plants from temperate regions of the world, they just fascinate me. I can’t wait to work more closely with them when I get round to working in the Great Glasshouse full time.

Leonotis leonurus (Lion’s Tail)

IMG_9559

IMG_9573

Alyogyne huegelii (Blue Hibiscus)

IMG_9566

IMG_9567

I made a new friend!

IMG_9575

That’s all for now, hope you enjoyed the photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “Delights in the Great Glasshouse

      • I missed seeing you there! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, it has been awhile but I can remember student days… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad to have you back. I wouldn’t have said anything but some of us are having trouble even receiving our usual posts so it doesn’t hurt to check. :))

        Like

What are your thoughts?

