The Exotic Garden

Here is another post about one of the gardens I visited when I was living in Hertfordshire. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Last weekend I went on a fabulous road trip with my friend and work colleague Charlotte – we saw three gardens in one day!

This post is about the second garden we visited, the Exotic Garden in Norfolk. This is the one I was most excited about seeing, after reading wonderful articles and seeing snippets of it on TV.

The Exotic Garden

IMG_7180

IMG_7182

IMG_7183

The moment we stepped inside my jaw dropped, it was breath-taking. Tropical plants towered above my head, spilling out over the pathways. The focal point was an incredible tree house, built into a fifty feet high (if not taller!) oak tree. It was like I was in a jungle!

IMG_7181

IMG_7185

IMG_7187

IMG_7188

The garden itself is an acre in size but there was so much crammed into a tiny space that it felt bigger than it was. I’m a tropical girl at heart so for me it was absolute paradise!

What impressed me the most was the fact all of these tender, subtropical plants were not just surviving but thriving in a micro-climate the owner of the garden, Will Giles, had created.

IMG_7190

IMG_7192

IMG_7200

IMG_7207

It’s a garden which is renowned for growing plants that supposedly shouldn’t survive on the East coast of England, but in fact they do – it was like a mini Eden Project!

I loved the differentΒ sculptures dotted around the garden

IMG_7174

IMG_7195

IMG_7197

IMG_7199

Dahlia

IMG_7201

It was so weird seeing house-plants like Crassula ovata, Aeonium, Bougainvillea, Thunbergia etc and bromeliads such as Tillandsia cyanea and epiphytic orchids growing outside.

Bromeliads

IMG_7240

IMG_7246

The succulent and cacti area at the top of the garden was awesome, one Aeonium was as big as my head!

Succulents and cacti

IMG_7213

IMG_7216

IMG_7222

IMG_7227

IMG_7228

A hut at the top of the garden

IMG_7232

View from the hut

IMG_7217

IMG_7223

Crassula ovata

IMG_7224

Various aeoniums

IMG_7215

IMG_7220

IMG_7221

The tree house was easily my favourite part of the garden, I fell in love with it even more when I found out someone actually lives in there. How cool is that!!

The tree house

IMG_7256

Stairs to the top!

IMG_7245

Inside

IMG_7237

New tenant!

IMG_7243

You could see for miles, the views in the distance were of Norfolk so weren’t very picturesque(!) but, even so, it was pretty stunning. I wanted to set up home there myself!

Views from the tree house

IMG_7239

IMG_7247

IMG_7251

IMG_7253

There was tea and cakes being sold in the β€œdownstairs” part of the tree house, me and Charlotte had a pit-stop before going on our way.

Cake!

IMG_7258

I’ve decided I will definitely have a garden like this one day in the future. It could be in England or another part of the world – who knows! Watch this space. πŸ˜‰

20 thoughts on “The Exotic Garden

  1. Becka

    I just loved this. I live in France and am creating a garden from an old vine growing field – heavy clay! Happy days – well it grows weeds well. This garden is just fantastic – where in Norfolk is it? I love all your photos and wish you well in the new part of your horticultural training.

    Maureen Fisher

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Maureen πŸ˜€ It sounds like you have a challenge on your hands with the clay soil – plenty of mulch needed! It’s in Norwich (in Norfolk) pretty close to the sea. I’d recommend visiting it for sure πŸ™‚ x

      Like

  2. That’s the kind of garden I’d love to have. I’m still puzzled about the survival of obvious tropical plants at open air in winter in the UK? One day give me the secret. Nice post Becky! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you HJ πŸ˜€ the garden is situated in the perfect place for growing tropical plants, the high walls surrounding the place create a very warm microclimate. Will Giles is a lucky man to have all this as his back garden! x

      Like

  3. Wonderful photos and narrative Becky. I feel I’ve been there having tea in that fascinating tree house! I must find this garden when we’re visiting Norfolk which is soon! I’m glad you’re having so much fun! πŸ™‚

    Like

What are your thoughts?

