The Beth Chatto Gardens

Life has been a whirlwind this past week, I left my job and home in Hertfordshire for pastures new in Llanarthne, Wales. I’m halfway through my first week at the National Botanic Garden of Wales and am loving it – it isn’t raining, I must have brought the sunshine with me!

I will have lots to update you all with by the weekend, for now here is a post I wrote last month. 🙂

A few weeks ago I went on a fabulous road trip with my friend Charlotte – we saw three gardens in one day!

This post is about the first garden we visited, the Beth Chatto Gardens in Essex. We set off early and had the gardens to ourselves for the first hour or so – I love wandering round with no one else there as it means I never get random people popping up in my photos!

The Dry Garden

IMG_7077

IMG_7083

IMG_7088

IMG_7094

Beth Chatto is known for her famous dry garden, which is the main reason me and Charlotte wanted to visit as we have been giving our dry garden at Ashridge a major overhaul.

IMG_7078

IMG_7086

IMG_7089

IMG_7093

It was very reassuring to see most of the plants we had included in our planting plan in Beth Chatto’s own dry garden. It’s all very well reading books and drawing designs on paper but when you see it for real it suddenly takes on a new meaning.

IMG_7097

IMG_7100

IMG_7102

IMG_7105

I love how Beth Chatto’s dry garden had “islands” of plants with pathways around them, as well as borders at either side of the garden. Pretty much everything was labelled which I love as there’s nothing worse than seeing a wonderful new plant and not knowing the name of it!

Euphorbia myrsinites

IMG_7104

Sedum telephium ‘Karfunkelstein’

IMG_7098

Pennisetum villosum

Pennisetum villosum

I saw several species of certain genera which caught my eye such as Euphorbia myrsinites, Sedum telephium ‘Karfunkelstein’ and Pennisetum villosum. The swathes of grasses added texture and structure and masses of Verbena bonariensis was used throughout the garden, linking one area to another.

IMG_7081

Dipsacus fullonum

Dipsacus fullonum

IMG_7109

IMG_7111

The overall effect of the dry garden was beautiful, it may not be to everyone’s taste but it inspired me for sure. I’m very happy I’ve seen “the” dry garden everyone in the horticultural world raves about!

We also had a look around the rest of the garden, which included a water and woodland garden. The pond was surrounded by gorgeous herbaceous beds, with loads of late-flowering perennials – my favourites were the rudbeckias and Echinacea purpurea ‘Rubinstern’.

Herbaceous borders

IMG_7112

IMG_7156

IMG_7117

IMG_7129

IMG_7138

IMG_7146

IMG_7155

IMG_7140

Echinacea purpurea ‘Rubinstern’

IMG_7142

Phlox

IMG_7149

Hydrangea

IMG_7153

Rudbeckias

IMG_7163

It’s me!

IMG_7161

The Taxodium distichum trees were amazing, they were positioned perfectly at the water’s edge. The flowers of the aquatic plants Pontederia cordata and Thalia dealbata were so striking, if only I could create a garden like that!

Water Garden

IMG_7159

IMG_7113

IMG_7120

 Pontederia cordata in the foreground

IMG_7124

 Taxodium distichum in the background

IMG_7125

There was an area called the Scree Garden which had displays of succulents and cacti in pots and raised beds. One display was of Beth Chatto’s own personal succulent collection!

Succulents and cacti displays

IMG_7169

IMG_7170

I loved this cute dianthus!

IMG_7165

Aeonium arborescens ‘Schwarzkopf’

IMG_7171

Beth Chatto’s succulent collection

IMG_7173

It was a garden which was well worth the visit – I hope you enjoyed the photos. 🙂

16 thoughts on “The Beth Chatto Gardens

  1. Gorgeous Becky! I loved this tour. And you got a photo of a bee too! Im obsessed with bees, I take photos of them all the time!

    And what a coincidence! You have sedum in here too! I have been having a Facebook conversation today trying to find out if two plants in our garden are both sedum. Can I get them to you somehow and have your opinion? Xx

    Like

  2. Wonderful. Here we call the dry garden a desert landscape. My in-laws live in Palm Springs, which is all desert. Perhaps it’s dryer than this dry garden. And hotter — 110 in the shade in April. All the photos were lovely again. What about the other two gardens you visited? Will you be posting them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow that is hot! I’d love to see a proper dry/desert garden in the wild instead of ones which are man made. I have just shared another post about one of the other gardens we visited – coincidence! Thank you for reading and commenting 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

