Pinetum Park & Pine Lodge Gardens

Here’s the last post about what I got up to when I went home for the Easter holidays. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

When I was at home for Easter one of the people I caught up with was my lovely tutor from Duchy College, Beki Marriott.

Beki was the best person to have helped me through the qualification I needed for my apprenticeship while I was at Eden, there wasn’t anything I couldn’t discuss with her – she would always go the extra mile to ensure I was happy and succeeding in what I was doing.

Me and Beki

IMG_2303

She also nominated me for the two awards I received (runner up for Apprentice of the Year and Greatest Personal Achievement Award) and basically believed in me one hundred percent from the beginning. In short she is not only a great tutor but a wonderful person as well!

We met up at Pinetum Park & Pine Lodge Gardens, in St Austell. I visited a few times when I was living in Cornwall, it’s a beautiful place with lots of small gardens within it as well as an incredible tea room!

Views of the garden

IMG_2317

IMG_2322

IMG_2353

IMG_2362

IMG_2348

IMG_2383

Bluebells

IMG_2347

IMG_2357

Dog’s tooth violet,Β Erythronium dens-canis

IMG_2371

Ferns

IMG_2386

Pleione formosana orchid

pleione formosana

I dragged my parents along for the day, we had a brilliant time catching up with Beki. The weather was sunny and gorgeous, perfect for going round a garden. The Japanese area was my favourite, it was so tranquil and peaceful.

Japanese Garden

IMG_2312

IMG_2306

IMG_2315

IMG_2318

The Winter Garden still had some interest in there, with bright azaleas and rhododendrons flowering.

Winter Garden

IMG_2323

IMG_2326

Stag sculpture

IMG_2335

Pittosporum flowers

IMG_2329

Azaleas and rhododendrons

IMG_2301

IMG_2377

IMG_2330

IMG_2333

The Pinetum had plenty of classic trees, such as the Monkey Puzzle Araucaria araucana, and Beki’s favourite conifer SciadopitysΒ verticillata.

Pinetum

IMG_2338

IMG_2342

IMG_2343

Monkey Puzzle

IMG_2340

I loved all the sculptures round the garden, my favourite was a tiny house – perfect size for a Hobbit!

Various sculptures

IMG_2352

IMG_2351

Hobbit House!

IMG_2365

Magnolias were out in full force, as was the big umbrella like leaves of the giant rhubarb GunneraΒ manicata.

Magnolia trees

IMG_2381

IMG_2390

Gunnera manicata

IMG_2384

We all had a wonderful day, and hope to catch up again with each other the next time I’m home. Until next time, here’s a Chinese proverb for you:

β€œIf you want to be happy for a short time, get drunk; happy for a long time, fall in love; happy forever, take up gardening.” :)

960097_392096904232320_1711212366_n

18 thoughts on “Pinetum Park & Pine Lodge Gardens

  1. What at beautiful place! I love the pond and lush vegetation. Gorgeous plants and flowers! Thanks Becky for the tour! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Becka, there is no doubt in my mind but that you will take all that you learned from Beki and use it well and pass it along in a similar way but one that is yours. You are a treasure! πŸ™‚ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another gorgeous tour Becky, and as Lea said I too am sure you will be passing your knowledge and wisdom on; you already do! I think my favourite would be the Japanese garden, it looked so very peaceful. I remember my mum using Pittosporum in her flower arranging! 😊 xx

    Like

    • Thank you Christine, I definitely will! πŸ˜€ the Japanese area was the perfect place to relax, it had a very calming atmosphere. Pittosporum has great foliage for bouquets, your mum had good taste! πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

  4. Beautiful photos Becky and congratulations! I’m sure your passion for your work has worked its magic on many folk. I totally agree with you that gardens and gardening makes you happy forever, in fact appreciating nature makes me feel happy even when times are tough. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you! I hope it has – sharing my passion is what makes me happy πŸ˜€ glad you agree, nature has helped me through many a bad patch in life too – it’s the best therapy available x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

