Tregothnan

When I went home for the Easter break I managed to fit in a few garden visits as well as catch up with friends and family – it seems like a very long time ago now! One of the gardens I went to was Tregothnan, near Truro in Cornwall. It is a private estate which is only open for two days a year, as part of the UK’s largest Charity Garden Open Weekend. It coincided with when I went home, perfect timing!

Tregothnan

IMG_1659

IMG_1667

Rhododendron flowers

IMG_1761

IMG_1698

IMG_1704

IMG_1703

IMG_1705

Tregothnan is renown for its tea plantation; it was the first place to grow ornamental Camellia (Camellia sinensis) outdoors 200 years ago. Its collections of rhododendron, camellia and magnolia species are outstanding, they have the largest rhododendrons in the world! The history of the garden is fascinating, click here for more information.

Tea!

IMG_1735

Views from the Valley

IMG_1718

IMG_1730

IMG_1727

IMG_1747

IMG_1671 Crop

IMG_1774

Camellia flowers

IMG_1672

IMG_1689

IMG_1787

IMG_1764

IMG_1767

IMG_1770

Camellia shrub

IMG_1682

Various rhododendrons

IMG_1650

IMG_1652

IMG_1664

Pretty azalea

IMG_1674

Corylopsis

IMG_1809

Woodland area of primroses

IMG_1687

I was blown away by the sweeping vistas, secluded groves and, of course, the plants. It felt like I was transported to different parts of the world by being in just one garden. There was a Himalayan Valley, South America and South African areas, and even a Camellia maze!

View of the Camellia maze

IMG_1709 Edit

Show-stopping rhododendrons!

IMG_1780

IMG_1790

IMG_1789

IMG_1807

IMG_1814

IMG_1823

The rhododendrons truly took my breath away, the sheer size of them made me awe-struck. They were as tall as a house! I came round one corner to be greeted by towering shrubs with the most vivid, shocking pink flowers I have ever seen in my life. I was gaping like a goldfish, the only words I could muster was O-M-G!

More showstoppers!

IMG_1820

IMG_1824

IMG_1825

IMG_1826

IMG_1840

IMG_1843

IMG_1845

IMG_1849

Me with my Mum

IMG_1852

They had a display of vintage cars there too, I couldn’t quite work out why but it made my Dad’s day!

Vintage cars

IMG_1877

You can see for yourself how amazing the place was – my photos don’t do it justice but they are the next best thing to seeing it for real! I hope you enjoyed the photos. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Tregothnan

  1. That was an amazing garden! I’ve never seen Rhododendrons so gigantic! I was impressed by the 2 gorgeous ladies posing for the camera too! 🙂 Thanks Becky for this tour!

    Like

  2. Becka, your photos are always amazing. Right now, I am struggling with the pollens around here so I began wondering how big a problem that might be in one of your lovely gardens?

    Like

    • Thank you Lea 😀 a colleague at work suffers really badly with hay fever, it’s not nice in general but when you work outside it makes it even worse! We get a lot of tree pollen at Ashridge, sometimes when it’s windy you can actually see it blowing off the trees. I hope you can enjoy summer despite being affected by the pollen! 🙂 xx

      Like

  3. A strange feeling to be transported back to spring on midsummer’s day! The rhododendrons are enormous and your photos certainly showed them to full effect. The Cornish climate suits them very well. I loved the delicate camillias – all without frost scorching too!

    Like

    • I have been meaning to write about the gardens I visited at Easter for such a long time!! I have finally got round to it so watch this space for a few more spring-like posts 🙂 I was bowled over by the rhododendrons! The rest of the garden was gorgeous too though, all the plants were in pristine condition. Thanks for the read and comment, glad you liked the photos 😀 x

      Like

  4. An amazing display of colour Becky! Even from the photos I can understand your OMG response! Ive never seen anything on this scale, just gorgeous!. And the camellias are like roses! I wish ours looked like that! And a really lovely photo of you and your mum 😊 xx

    Like

    • Thank you Christine 😀 It was a feast of colour, I was in my element with all these gorgeous plants surrounding me! Camellias look as stunning as roses, I just wish they smelt as good as they looked! xx

      Like

What are your thoughts?

