Rhododendron Avenue

The rhododendron avenue at Ashridge has been looking sensational for the past few weeks. Unfortunately it is just beginning to go over now, it’s been at its peak for so long that I’m quite sad to see it go!

Rhododendron Avenue

IMG_2973

IMG_2985

IMG_2999

IMG_3003

IMG_2994

I took these photos over a series of beautiful sunny evenings, I love wandering around the gardens when no one else is around โ€“ it feels like I’m the only person on the planet.

The Sequoiadendron avenue looks even more dramatic behind the vibrant rhododendron bushes, Ashridge House draws the eye directly down the avenue as a winning focal point.

Rhododendron Avenue with Ashridge House in the distance

IMG_2988

IMG_2995

IMG_3022

IMG_3028

IMG_3030

Young rhododendron plants were planted at the end of the avenue last year, they look so cute with flowers almost as big as the plant itself!

Young rhododendron plants

IMG_3008

IMG_3012

IMG_3013

IMG_3014

I adore the cerise pink flowers the most, instead of the red variety. I am a fan of the lilac purple ones too however, at Ashridge I’m spoilt for choice!

Close-ups

IMG_2975

IMG_2997

IMG_3001

IMG_3856

IMG_2982

When my parents came up for Chelsea they saw the rhododendrons looking their best, which they were happy about. I take for granted how lucky I am to have Ashridge as my back garden sometimes, when I show people round it suddenly dawns on me how spectacular the place is.

More rhododendronย shots

IMG_2965 Crop

IMG_2972

IMG_2979

IMG_3009

IMG_3026

IMG_3032

IMG_3855

I hope you enjoyed the photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “Rhododendron Avenue

  1. Absolutely gorgeous Becky! I just love these flowers; we have two, one very light pink and one of the very deep pink ones. Much smaller than these of course, but lovely nonetheless. You are so lucky to be around all this beauty and I felt quite envious when you talked about taking photos in the early evening when the world belonged to you alone! Xx

    Like

    • I will miss Ashridge a lot, the fact there is a new highlight each month is what makes me fall in love with the place. It was rhododendrons, now it’s roses! I’m spoilt living here. Thank you for your lovely comment ๐Ÿ˜€ x

      Like

  2. I love rhododendrons. It would be amazing to wander through these gardens and feel that you had them all to yourself.

    Years ago I was traveling in the Highlands of Scotland while the rhododendron were in bloom. I thought that they looked lovely, but a local told me they were like an invasive weed there… totally out of control.

    Like

    • That’s right! Rhododendron poniticum is an invasive species in the UK now, it spreads like a weed. The other ones are gorgeous though, my favourite flowers are the shocking pink blooms. Thank you for your comment ๐Ÿ˜€ x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

