Bank Holiday at Kew

Before my recent illness I went to Kew to visit my friend Neville, and to see the wonderful plants of course.

Kew Palace

IMG_2667

Me and Nev!

IMG_2701

The whole garden was a month ahead of where I work, for example Kew’s laburnum archway was in full flower and ours at Ashridge is still leafing up!

Laburnum Archway

IMG_2664

IMG_2665

The bluebells around Queen Charlotte’s Cottage were gorgeous, when I saw them I could appreciate their scent even more. They weren’t quite on the same scale as the ones in Ashridge’s bluebell woods, but still beautiful nonetheless.

Bluebells

IMG_2684

IMG_2690

IMG_2691

IMG_2692 Crop

IMG_2694

The rhododendrons were looking awesome, I love the ones with bright raspberry pink flowers. One section had been under-planted with candelabra primulas, a clever combination.

Rhododendrons

IMG_2670

IMG_2675

IMG_2673

IMG_2676

The candelabra primulas

IMG_2677

They were some lovely wild flower meadow areas which hadn’t been mown, it was heavenly to walk through grass which came up to my waist. It reminded me of my childhood, playing hide-and-seek outside before Dad got round to mowing the lawn!

Wild flower areas

IMG_2679

IMG_2697

IMG_2698

IMG_2752

View of the lawn

IMG_2682

Geum

IMG_2777

Adiantum venustum, aka the Evergreen Maidenhair Fern

Adiantum venustum

Cypripedium macranthos orchid

Cypripedium macranthos

Davidia involucrata, aka the Hankerchief Tree

Davidia involucrata

The Palmhouse

IMG_2741 Crop

IMG_2711

IMG_2715

Inside the Waterlily House

IMG_2734

IMG_2736

The glasshouses looked fabulous as always, in the Princess of Wales Conservatory one of my favourite tropical plants was still flowering – Strongylodon macrobotrys, more commonly known as the Jade Vine. It’s an intense, luminous, sea-green colour, each time I see it I can’t get over how enchanting it looks.

Strongylodon macrobotrys, aka the Jade Vine

Strongylodon macrobotrys

IMG_2830

It made the orchids I usually have palpitations over look almost normal in comparison – almost, not quite!

Orchids

IMG_2808

IMG_2807

IMG_2810

IMG_2811

IMG_2812

Impressive Nepenthes (pitcher plant)

IMG_2817

A few cacti were flowering too, I love seeing dots of colour on a toweringly tall cacti spike.

View of the Cacti

IMG_2822

Close-up!

IMG_2823

An Echium

IMG_2819

The Wisteria was wonderful, bunches of lilac racemes cascading down the branches. I never tire of it!

Wisteria floribunda

IMG_2840

IMG_2708

IMG_2841

The Azalea beds were a pick ‘n’ mix of colour, pinks and reds and oranges and yellows. There was no colour theme at all, it was so random it worked!

Azalea beds

IMG_2723

IMG_2726

IMG_2727

I lusted after the peonies, a certain red one won my heart – forget roses, give me a peony instead!

Perfect peonies

IMG_2767

IMG_2769

IMG_2766

IMG_2836

IMG_2771

The Rock Garden had treasures hiding behind every crevice, phlox, iris, aquilegia, and more intriguing, exotic plants I don’t know the names of but which were spectacular regardless!

The Rock Garden

IMG_2780

IMG_2785

IMG_2787

IMG_2790

Phlox

IMG_2795

Exotic treasures

IMG_2794

IMG_2799

IMG_2804

IMG_2805

I hope you enjoyed the photos from my Bank Holiday at Kew. Until next time! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Bank Holiday at Kew

  1. Wow Becky, you are otally spoiling us!!! I love the laburnum archway, but I just love all of it. So beautiful.. Thank you for taking the ime to post all these, it must take a while, but then Im useless with computery/Wordpress stuff. It takes me all I have to post one photo! Lol xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love laburnum archways! Ours at Ashridge is under-planted with purple alliums, I can’t wait to see it all out in flower.
      I usually write my post first, then choose my favourite photos and upload them. I’ve got my own method of doing it now so it doesn’t take that long!
      Sharing the photos is the best thing about this blog 😀 it makes it all worthwhile when I get lovely comments like yours Christine – thank you! Xx

      Like

  2. I enjoyed my tour of Kew, thank-you. The jade vine is wonderful; I have never seen anything like it before. My husband has been to Kew a couple of times but I never have. I MUST GO!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

